Sunday School


Slider

Beit Sefer Hadash

Our Sunday School now has a new name: Beit Sefer Hadash, the “New School”.

We used to be called B3 which incorporates the “B” of Beth Israel Judea and the “B” of B‘nai Emunah with the “B” of B’yachad (which means together). The three B’s are very much a part of who we are, and continue to be, which is a collaboration of our two congregations to provide a progressive Jewish education to our students.

As the 2019-2020 school year begins, we are continuing to work together in faith and friendship, synergy and spirit, education and enthusiasm.

Classes and Teachers

Shorashim (roots) K-1 with Morah Jennie

Anafim (branches) grades 2-4 with Morah Maya

Alim (leaves) grades 5- 6 with Orr Agam

Prakhim (flowers) B’nei Mitzvah candidates with Rabbi Elisheva Salamo

Peirot (fruit) (formerly E3) for post Bat and Bar Mitzvah students with Rabbi Elisheva Salamo.

Substitute Teacher Edee Huff.

Contacts

Rabbi Elisheva Salamo, B3 School Director  650-353-8686  rebbee[at]sonic.net

Rabbi Danny Gottlieb, Rabbi, Congregation Beth Israel Judea  415-586-8833, ext 22 rabbigottlieb[at]bij.org

Rabbi Pam Frydman, Rabbi, Congregation B’nai Emunah  415-664-7373, ext. 1 ❥ rabbipam.be[at]gmail.com

School Calendar 2019 – 2020

Beit Sefer Hadash meets almost every Sunday and the first Friday evening of each month. 
Sunday classes and field trips are from 10:00 am to 12:15 pm.
Class takes place at Congregation Beth Israel Judea, 625 Brotherhood Way, San Francisco.
Field trips generally begin and end at the field trip location. Please check the calendar and Rabbi Elisheva’s weekly updates for details.
Shabbat Shelanu Schedule for the first Friday of each month. 
Location changes month to month, so please check the calendar and Rabbi Elisheva’s weekly updates.
5:45 pm – Tot Shabbat for pre-schoolers and their families
6:30 pm – Vegetarian Potluck Shabbat Dinner for adults and kids of all ages
7:15 pm – Family Friendly Shabbat Service for adults and kids age 5 through teens
Followed by Dessert

SEPTEMBER
Friday, September 6 – Shabbat Shelanu at B’nai Emunah, 3595 Taraval Street, San Francisco

Sunday September 8    

Sunday September 15 – Peirot meet

Sunday September 22

Sunday September 29 – no school, get ready for Rosh HaShanah

OCTOBER

Friday, October 4 – Shabbat Shelanu at Beth Israel Judea, 625 Brotherhood Way, San Francisco

Sunday October 6   Torah Times  – SHEEP – LAMBfest: Peirot join us!

Sunday October 13  Torah Times  – SHEEP

Saturday October 19 – Sukkot sleepover at B’nai Emunah – no school on Sunday

Sunday October 27   Torah Times  – SHEEP

NOVEMBER
Friday, November 1 – Shabbat Shelanu at B’nai Emunah, 3595 Taraval Street, San Francisco

Sunday November 3  Torah Times  – SHEEP Peirot meet

Sunday November 10 Torah Times  – SHEEP

Sunday November 17  Torah Times  – SHEEP : Urban Adamah: Peirot join us!

Sunday Nov 24 and Dec 1- Thanksgiving break, no school

DECEMBER

Friday, December 6 – Shabbat Shelanu at Beth Israel Judea, 625 Brotherhood Way, San Francisco

Sunday December 8  

Sunday December 15 Peirot meet – Hannukah Bazaar!! Classes meet at BE

Sunday Dec 29 and Jan 5 – Winter break, no school

JANUARY

Friday, January 3 – NO Shabbat Shelanu

Sunday January 5

Sunday January 12 Peirot meet

Sunday January 19 –MLK break, no school

Sunday January 26 Torah Times  – NOURISHMENT

FEBRUARY

Sunday February 2 Torah Times  – NOURISHMENT Peirot meet

Friday, February 7 – Shabbat Shelanu at B’nai Emunah, 3595 Taraval Street, San Francisco

Sunday February 9 Torah Times  – NOURISHMENT

Sunday February 16 – Presidents’ Day break, no school

Sunday February 23 Torah Times  – NOURISHMENT Peirot meet

MARCH

Sunday March 1 Torah Times  – NOURISHMENT – Bronze age chef cook off

Friday, March 6 – Shabbat Shelanu at Beth Israel Judea, 625 Brotherhood Way, San Francisco

Sunday March 8 Purim Palooza (Purim is March 10th) Purim before Purim with special cookoff judges! Peirot meet

Sunday March 15 – Spring break, no school

Sunday March 22

Sunday March 31 Peirot meet

APRIL

Friday, April 3 – Shabbat Shelanu at B’nai Emunah, 3595 Taraval Street, San Francisco

Sunday April 5 – Model Seder Peirot meet

Sunday April 12  – Passover Break, no school

Sunday April 19 Peirot meet

Sunday April 26

MAY

Friday, May – 1 Shabbat Shelanu at Beth Israel Judea, 625 Brotherhood Way, San Francisco

Sunday May 3 Graduation/Moving Up activities Peirot meet

Sunday May 10 – Mother’s Day break, no school

Sunday May 17    Tikkun Olam Day

B'nai Emunah / Beth Israel Judea joint logo